Art · Coping Skills · General chronic conditions

Art: Just Keep Swimming

The first time I saw Finding Nemo I instantly saw myself in the character of Dory.

Dory is a fish, that while helpful, is extremely forgetful. She is often in her own head and forgets everything after a few seconds.

Sounds like me with brain fog!

One of her sayings is, “just keep swimming!”

In the film, and the sequel, this advice helps Dory carry on through bad circumstances and when she doesn’t know what else to do.

For me, as someone who has chronic pain and illness, it is the perfect advice.

When I’m feeling down, upset, or overwhelmed either physically or emotionally, I know that I can be strong and “just keep swimming”.

So that’s why I decided to paint my second painting around this saying.

I thought it should be fun and abstract. I’ve enjoyed putting in a lot of texture, which works well with water scenes as it reflects the movement of the waves! The fish simply are supposed to be fun.

Now I have a cheerful reminder to keep on swimming. 🙂

20170602_125209

 

2 thoughts on “Art: Just Keep Swimming

Leave a Reply

