Coping Skills · General chronic conditions · Uncategorized

It is Well

Growing up, my favourite hymn that we sang in church was It is Well with My Soul.

The lyrics always spoke to me, and the melody seemed to lift and soothe.

The hymn starts off by saying, “When peace like a river, attendeth my way/ When sorrows like sea billows roll/ Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say/ It is well, it is well, with my soul. 

When singing, the image that stuck out for me was that of a place of calm. A boat, staying steady in a stormy sea. With the passengers knowing that whatever happens, whatever the storm brings, all was well.

There is a message there of love, strength, and of a God who looks after us.

With my chronic pain and illnesses, life can become overwhelming. I’ve often thought about those simple lines, and they have brought me great peace.

Because in this storm, I know that it is well with my soul.

SRT-Hymns_instagram_day3b_alt

 

                                          

3 thoughts on “It is Well

  1. This is one of my favourite hymns. I thank God that through the pain & disabilities my body challenges me with, I do know that ” whatever my lot, He has taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul”
    Thank you for this beautiful reminder
    Sam xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

