Gastroparesis · General chronic conditions · Hospital Experiences · Procedures

My Dodgy Tummy: Part 2

This post is a continuation of Part 1. If you’ve not read it, I suggest doing so before reading this post. 

In January, 2016, I started getting what I thought was another gallbladder attack. After a few days of increasing pain, I was taken to the hospital by my in-laws.

I was given antibiotics to take home, as I had a slight fever, and given painkillers.

Over the next week, I continued to be unwell and did not improve at all. So, about ten days later I ended up back in hospital. This time though, they admitted me. I was given a scan and they ultimately determined that my gallbladder was fine. In fact, they could not figure out what was wrong.

In one of our discussions, the doctor said she thought something might be wrong with my stomach and the pain might be referred.

Then… things clicked. Stomach. Ah ha!

I explained that I had been diagnosed with something when I was younger, but I wasn’t really sure about the details. I explained that I’d been sick on and off, but because I had never had pain with it, I had never connected this with that.

I was discharged with a plan for more tests, and a follow up appointment with the surgeon who was responsible for my case.

In the following months, I had a MRI on my abdomen and two endoscopies.

The first endoscopy was a nightmare. I had fasted for more than the time frame stated, but yet I was sick during the entire thing. Needless to say, I fasted for 24+ hours for the second.

At my surgeon’s appointment, I found out my MRI showed food in my stomach as well, despite extended fasting then too.

By then, I had found out that it was gastroparesis I had been diagnosed with, and the surgeon agreed that the findings and symptoms all lined with with that diagnosis.

I’ve since gotten a gastroenterologist who has done a further endoscopy and a gastric emptying study.

Gastroparesis is not a nice diagnosis. It’s a chronic condition where your stomach doesn’t work well. Instead of helping to move food on, it delays things so what you eat stays in your stomach too long.

This causes nausea, vomiting, bloating, and pain (well…in my experience!). Being sick also has secondary side effects like malnutrition, issues with teeth, etc.

Despite having periods of illness my whole life, they have been just that. Periods. This hasn’t. Since January 2016, a year and four months ago, I’ve struggled with constant nausea, and almost daily vomiting. I’ve needed fluids several times, including this past Friday.

Time will tell as to what direction my treatment will go, but I do know this… When people tell me to trust my gut, I think, hmmm… Not sure that’s wise! 😉

20170428_142228
For when my veins are thirsty but my stomach is too cranky! 
Leave a Reply

