Gastroparesis · General chronic conditions · Migraine

My Dodgy Tummy: Part 1

When I was 6 months old, I started throwing up a lot. I had episodes of vomiting that would put me in the hospital for fluids.

Around the age of 2, they determined that these episodes were likely from migraines.

I continued throughout my childhood to be sick frequently. Often during migraines, but sometimes just randomly.

When I was 13, I got some sort of virus, or throat infection. With that, I could not keep anything down, and very soon I ended up in hospital.

I ended up missing a lot of my grade 8 year, and was just throwing up all the time.

A gastric emptying study study was ordered and a gastroenterologist told us that my stomach wasn’t working properly.

That was basically all that was explained to me. I was told that whenever I got really sick, I had to take some medication and be careful not too get dehydrated.

As a teenager, I continued to be sick at least once or twice a week randomly, but this seemed normal to me as that’s how it had been since I was a child. It never occurred to me that others didn’t do the same.

Now, it wasn’t that I was a particularly weak and sickly child or teen. I played sports and had jobs. I just also threw up randomly. I also had neck pain, and hurt myself a lot…But I still was pretty active.

I moved to the UK when I was in my early 20s, and after I had been there for a while I started getting severe stomach pain.

An A&E (Emergency) visit had a doctor tell me that I likely had gallstones.

I went through several years of sickness and pain, with various doctors telling me it was my gallbladder, but they couldn’t do anything because it was just sludge, or that they didn’t know what was wrong with me.

It was frustrating, but in between those periods, I felt fine for the most part. I still was sick randomly, and had small periods of pain and such, but I could generally eat normally.

And this continued until last January, 2016, when my stomach decided to really revolt…

To be continued…

 

One thought on “My Dodgy Tummy: Part 1

Leave a Reply

