General chronic conditions · Uncategorized

What’s in a Name?

Naming things is always tricky.

I’ve never had a child, but if the amount of baby name books and websites are anything to go by, deciding a name for your baby carries a certain amount of responsibility. It is their identity.

Names carry power and have connotations attached. They often say teachers struggle to find names for their children because they link names to students and, rightly or wrongly, assign certain personalities to individual names.

Full disclosure: This is true. I was a teacher.

So when it came to naming this blog, I hemmed and hawed. I know… It’s not an actual baby, but it is my creative baby, so I wanted to try and get the name right. Hopefully I ended up with something that works!

The focus of the name is on chronic conditions. Hence… The chronic part of the name. That’s pretty obvious, right?

Chronic conditions typically are long term, and cannot be cured by medicine. This means living sick, often for years. It includes conditions such as cancers, heart disease, diabetes, neurological disorders, gastrointestinal problems, pain disorders, arthritis, etc. I would also include mental health disorders onto this list as well.

Many of these conditions are not visible. Thousands of people suffer from chronic illness and pain without anyone knowing. It’s a silent battle and I want to sound the horn! (Funnily enough, I did used to play the trumpet)

The Spoonful part of this blog’s name comes from a few places.

The first is the spoon theory. You can read more about that here but basically it’s an anology to describe how people with chronic pain/illness might divide their day up according to how much energy they have.

Pain and constant sickness takes a lot of energy from you. A lot. If you are a healthy person, remember the last time you had a really bad cold. You felt tired, and everything hurt. You still had to do things, but it was hard so you maybe snuck in a nap, or decided not to shower because you were too tired. Perhaps you ordered take away, instead of cooking. Or you cancelled plans to see a friend so you could rest.

Now imagine that’s just your life now. You have limited energy so you plan and budget it.

Sometimes, being ill can be overwhelming. I try and be very positive and am fortunate to not suffer from depression, however, I’d be lying if I said some days my spoon is full. Sometimes it can all be a bit too much, and I want to have an honest conversation with you, my readers, about that. So Spoonful can also describe the emotional side of chronic conditions.

Another aspect to the Spoonful thing is that some of my medication comes in liquid form. It’s gross and I make so many faces when I take it but it’s part of my experience so I thought I’d include it!

So now now you know why my new (creative) baby is called A Chronic Spoonful.

 

 

Leave a Reply

